NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Looking for opinions and advice ! :)

Hey all,  this website seems pretty sweet so far. I'm pretty new to astronomy so it's all exciting (please assume i know nothing when talking to me because i don't know much). 

It took me a while to decide on a telescope but in the end i decided to go big or go home (within my budget lol). I bought an 8 inch dobsonian from skywatcher also i got a moon map and a 2x barlow lens, also the telescope came with a 25 mm eyepiece and a 10 mm one.

I live on the outskirts of a small town of about 20 000 but even then there is a lot of light pollution, so I'm just waiting for a chance to get out to a national park or any other dark sky zone. 

I've looked at the moon, and it is pretty amazing. I've looked at venus but yeah it's all blurry (i realize that the surface can't be seen and the luminosity distorts my view of it). Jupiter and it's four moon's is pretty amazing but i can't seem to magnify it enough, the extent to which i can view it is just enough to see the two main horizontal red bands. Is that normal with my array of eyepieces and my scope? Haven't been able to find saturn yet. The orion Nebula is the only other real noteworthy thing to mention that I've seen, it was faint but thats understandable with my conditions.

Should i get a star atlas? Should i invest in better eyepieces? 

- Sabraman

Greetings and welcome! I would suggest that you find your way around the sky, and find out what you would like to see, before you start throwing money for gear. You'll get there - believe me!

A good star-atlas is a great resourse. And a good software-planetarium program is great, too! These can help you find what's available to you at any time - tailored to your location. Stellarium is one of the best. And you can download it and use it for free from here:

http://www.stellarium.org/

One of the developers is a member here.

Clear Nights,

Dave

Top advice by dave.