NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Astrophotography mounts for cameras

Hi All

I have been doing astronomy for many years now, and recently started with Astrophotography(taking my observations to my friends and family, which is easier than getting them to my scope...)

My equipment is a 6inch skywatcher reflector(with motorised mount), and a canon A720 camera, I mostly take AVI's and stack them in Registax. Now, I don't have any method of attaching my camera to my scope. I used to hold it with my hands, which yielded results, but poor ones. This was sufficient for experiements(I took 100's of photos and AVI's before I got it right), and I thought I could build my own one adaptor, but I have given up.

Taking my gear in consideration, what would be the best equipment to buy?

On this page

http://www.astro-engineering.com/Camera%20Mountings/digitalcameraand.html

I found 'Ultra standard digital camera support' and 'DigimaxT 40 - digital imaging eyepiece'.

Don't know which one will be best, any ideas? or maybe you guys know of equipment not found on the link I posted? I am in the UK at the moment(I am from South Africa), so I figured I'll buy it here while I am still here.

Thanks

I have the Ultra Deluxe AC295 and a Canon PowerShot like yours (A540). I've taken good pictures of open clusters, Moon and Mars, afocally, with that setup. The problem is the bigger rings are extra and I don't have any that will go around my Nagler. You should also look into the Hyperion series of eyepieces because they have some nifty mounting options. Whiplash has done a lot of afocal work with a PowerShot and a Hyperion.