NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Surprisingly clear skies

Last night the skies cleared after some very black clouds during the afternoon so I took the opportunity to setup the scope, allow it to cool (not sure if a refractor needs this but I did read you should do this anyway) and enjoy some of the night sky.

I started with the moon as it was still bright and could see with my naked eye that Mars was just above it which was nice in a wide-field eyepiece. I spent some time on the moon but didn't have my guide with me. After some time online today I decided to download the Lunar 100 to keep me busy while summer skies are still quite bright - I am very new to astronomy and this seems a very achievable goal and good place to start.

I spent some time on mars after the moon had moved off a bit from it but again it's more of an orange blob for me still, with darker patches but still quite fuzzy. I could see Saturn peaking above the treeline and that kept me busy for about 45 minutes. It is still my favourite site in the eyepiece. I spent time watching at 100x, 200x and once again even managed to push my scope to 400x, but I think seeing was better the previous night at 400x.

So it was getting a bit darker now and I could see more and more stars (nothing to do with a second bottle of Corona :tongue:). I started by looking at the stars I kew, Arcturus, Spica and Vega that made up the plough (big dipper). I learnt the name of a few of them online. I was delighted to focus on Dubhe and see it was actually two stars. Hooray my first "double". I particularly liked this as I hadn't known about it beforehand, so it was a nice surprise, confirmed by Stellarium.