NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

What to see

As a fairly new observer I am wondering what people would recommend as a 'must see' for those just getting started, or just in general.

I have observed Jupiter and the moon quite a bit in order to get used to my scope, ep's and setting up etc but now I want to move on to other things but I don't know where to start!

As I am a beginner if you could also suggest what ep to use to get the best view of what you suggest that would be a massive help too!

Thanks!

I'm a beginner too and amd finding posts like the one above useful, but also bought "Turn Left at Orion" which I will be working through - only done the first (M42 and M43) to date, as there is plenty to observe there, but Sky at Night magazine also has a monthly calendar of things to see which I have found useful.

As a beginner, I had just a 10mm and 25mm EP which gave me mags of x120 and x48 in my 120mm focal length dob.....the lower mag is great for finding stuff, before zooming in with the higher, and for looking at deep space objects - M42 and M43 look clearer in the 25mm eyepiece as they give a wider angle which is important on the larger DSOs. I am thinking about getting a wider angle 32mm EP at some point in the next few months.

The 10mm/120x EP is great for Jupiter and the moon, but I have also purchased a BST 8mm EP which gives x150 mag and is much better than the stock EPs I have and gives some fantastic views of Jupiter when the seeing is good.

I'm a beginner too and amd finding posts like the one above useful, but also bought "Turn Left at Orion" which I will be working through - only done the first (M42 and M43) to date, as there is plenty to observe there, but Sky at Night magazine also has a monthly calendar of things to see which I have found useful.