NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Getting Focus with Atk 314L + Pro

Ok got out tonight for the first time with the Atik on my SW 80 ED Pro and could not just get focus. Using Artemis I followed the instruction about starting and switched on the Camera.

I had practised during the day on a distant object and had all the extension tubes fitted to get focus.

With the Camera switched on all I had on the screen was a mass of colours. No star (Arcturus) I started playing with the exposer times and took it down to .02 sec which got rid of the colours and gave  me a view of the star, started focusing it but could get it no smaller than a 1/4" disc. Gave up and switched to Nebulosity. Managed to get the star down to a dot using the focuser and the Black and White sliders, tried switching that to Auto but did not get any better.

Had about 15 minutes playing with that but then the clouds rolled in and that was it for the night.

Any advice with what the settings should be to get the pin point stars or what knobs should be tweaked, would be greatly appreciated.

Pat

Ok got out tonight for the first time with the Atik on my SW 80 ED Pro and could not just get focus. Using Artemis I followed the instruction about starting and switched on the Camera.

I had practised during the day on a distant object and had all the extension tubes fitted to get focus.

With the Camera switched on all I had on the screen was a mass of colours. No star (Arcturus) I started playing with the exposer times and took it down to .02 sec which got rid of the colours and gave  me a view of the star, started focusing it but could get it no smaller than a 1/4" disc. Gave up and switched to Nebulosity. Managed to get the star down to a dot using the focuser and the Black and White sliders, tried switching that to Auto but did not get any better.

Had about 15 minutes playing with that but then the clouds rolled in and that was it for the night.