NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

a little bit of cloud dodging, the moon and Jupiter

AlexB67

So it's been some time to get a bit of a session under the belt.  Tonight was the first night to try the new ( old )  TV Radian 6mm. Given the clouds and variable weather recently I wanted a scope that cooled as quickly as possible, so gave the Heritage 130p a little run with this eyepiece and the skywatcher 6mm UWA along for company.

First impressions of this eyepiece left me very impressed indeed.

For some time I studied the Kepler and Enke Craters, features down to about 5 - 10  miles across, the screenshot does not do it justice in terms of what you sea at the eyepiece, but this area is well worth a look, some lovely shadows this evening to bring out the finer features.

Despite the clouds it seemed rather clear and steady at 108 mag.  I also briefly popped in the 6mm UWA, the views in the Radian seemed that bit crisper, and better contrast too.  To be fair to the cheap SW UWA though, perhaps I did not try hard enough in this first session and time will tell, but all the features were discernible in the Skywatcher eyepiece too,  albeit that tiny bit less crisp, harder on the eye to bring out those extra little warts and crinkles on the lunar surface.  I had a tough time getting the missus away form the Radian eyepiece during the lunar session. !

It seems to me that the skywatcher is that lit bit more colour neutral versus the Radian with a slightly warmer sultry tone, but somehow I like it more, a purely subjective preference,  I like my warm colour tints as it happens !

Onto Jupiter, it has been a while since I used the heritage on Jupiter, I should mention that the differences that can be seen in a 10 inch Dob compared to a 5 inch Dob in terms of planetary detail is significant, that said, the views were still very pleasant, neither eyepiece is to blame here for the lack in detail between such scopes.