Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

iOS Astro (and Weather) Apps - What are your thoughts?

markallan

Hi All,

Whilst I so eagerly await my first clear night to break my 'scope virginity, I thought I'd have a look at some apps for my iPad that may help me whilst gazing. As a researcher, I'm a huge advocate for taking my iPad mini out onto fieldwork as a lightweight notebook/data collection tool (though a pencil and paper are always in my bag), and would like to do the same once I get a chance to go out with the telescope!

As such, are there any must-have apps that you've come across - both for assisting with the astronomy, but also with the planning (i.e. weather)?

Currently, I use Star Walk (by Vito Technology) as a Sky Chart, and WeatherPro, with Premium Features (by Meteogroup).

All suggestions welcomed and appreciated  :smiley:

Mark

Don't really have a good sky chart app for my phone, but as for weather I like the clear sky chart from cleardarksky.com

As of late accuweather or some other weather sites have told me it was partly or mostly cloudy, but when I check CDS, it shows that cloud cover is good and when I look out the window, it is clear as a bell. 

I never liked regular weather reports anyway though. It can say it's partly cloudy. So does that mean it's mostly clear??? 

Just my 2 cents so far. I'm sure that some people have quite the opposite views of CDS. But for me it works 90% of the time.

I can recommend Luminous as a great app, I use it to help me pin point where things are in the night sky.  I am a newbie to astronomy and find it a bit difficult to navigate the night sky, but this app helps to find the objects i want to observe.

Sometimes i just sit in my back garden looking at the sky and using the app the help me learn the constellations.