NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Laser finder

Hey

I've run into issues finding a finder for my 12" lightbridge deluxe.

I do not like the reflex RDF that came with it (the meade one), and would maybe get a 50 RACI or something. However, I'm not against looking for something a bit more high tech!

I have seen some green laser dot finders (especiall on american websites). Are these available,legal and any good?

Does the baader laser skysurfer finder superimpose the laser onto the sky or do you have to crane your neck to look through the en of the finder to see the beam?

My skies are fairly light polluted - Manchester - so at the moment, sans finder, it is hard to even find the moon in the scope!

Thanks

Jay

Hi Jay,

Please be careful!!

I'm not an expert by any means but I completed a module on Lasers during my recent MSc studies. Our lecturer was very critical of some types of laser pointers. Some are illegal and can be very dangerous to the eyes even from reflected beams.

He was from the Health Protection Agency. This is a link to their Laser pointer safety advice: -

http://www.hpa.org.uk/radiation/understand/information_sheets/laser_pointers.htm

Hope this is helpful

Bill£ :D

Hi Jay,

the green laser pointers are sold in the U.K. too, the ones from America are rated greater than

5mw which i don't think are legal over here,

I've got one (5mw) and their not very good in light polluted Sky's,

also the cold affects the beam which makes it even dimmer,

better of with a good RFD

Steve.