NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Newbie - HEQ5 Pro Mount - stops slewing

paolot

Hi

Newbie here, getting back into astronomy after many years.

Went out and got myself a HEQ5 Pro Mount with an 8 inch Reflector from BinTel in Melbourne.

Set it up without a problem. Pluged in the handset and she worked first go - very happy, because I'm not generally very good with my hands.

However, after a few minutes, I can't slew anymore in (I think) the R.A. direction (sorry getting used to the lingo - I've only ever had a 4 inch reflector in the past). The direction it stops moving is the one with the bar and weights on it. It still moves in the other direction (i.e. horizontally - not vertically).

I have balanced my scope with the help of YouTube by releasing the levers (clutches) and making sure it is balanced both horizontally (and vertically which has put the eyepiece in a very difficult position - straight up). I have balanced the mount with a leveller. There is clearly power - the red light stays on, the handset stays on, and usually it will continue to slew horizontally. It just stops vertically. If I turn it off and back on, sometimes it works, sometimes I have to move the mount back into its home position manually and then it works again.

I still need to collimate the scope so I haven't really been able to use it - but its a bit useless unless I can slew in all directions!

Has anyone had this problem or can anyone suggest a solution - is it something with the gears? Can I fix it (or get a handy mate to do it?) Or does it sound like a problem and I need to return it?

I have looked online and some people have had all sorts of problems - usually not locking the clutches. I can't work it out. I would be grateful for any assistance.

Many Thanks!