Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Astrophotography Noob

Hi all!

This is my first post :D

I am after some advice on astrophotography using my old meade 8" lx200 classic.

My wife just bought a nice new Canon EOS 400D digital SLR camera, so I thought I would give it a go with some prime focus astrophotography using a Meade #62 T Adaptor and Eos T-ring.

Basically any advice in this area would be appreciated as I am a noob.

Cheers

DeadMan

Welcome to SGL DeadMan :rolleyes:

You will be restricted to 30 seconds at first if You are alt/az mounted but if you have a wedge you are off and running. If you don't already have a remote for the 400D it is worthwhile getting one as without it 30 seconds is the maximum the camera will allow. Next a 6.3 focal reducer will give you a bit wider field of view and longer exposures will suffer less if your mount has tracking errors which they all do to some extent. :? Its a great way to get into imaging and can be a lot of fun but be prepared to bite your tongue a few time as it can be a little bit frustrating at times :D Thirty seconds doesn't sound very long but if you were to take 30 x 30 seconds shots and then stack them using DeepSky Stacker you will be amazed at the results.

Hope this helps.

The biggest challenge I had with my 400D was focusing (especially on dimmer objects). Be prepared to spend a lot of time on it. It's hard to see anything through the viewfinder, especially if on a dark area of sky. There are a couple of method's for focusing..

1. Inexpensive, time consuming method

Take lot's of test photo's and review them on screen but use the zoom feature and zoom on to a star. Re-adjust focus and review until you get it just right.

2. Expensive but effective method