NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Observing Night Sky Tonight at 20.30 pm (latitude 54.283) (longitude -0.39975)

Hi all,

I am brand new to Astronomy and am taking the course  (S282 Astronomy)  with the Open University. As an activity i have to go out and do some observing, which has been hard work with finding a place to observe from (i do not drive). Whilst walking back home tonight from a friends, the sky was full of stars and about 30 degrees from my horizon i could clearly see "The Plow" and about 6 hrs (RA) i could see the three stars of the main belt of Orion. When i got home i checked the planetsphere i have with the course and when i lined everything up with North being correct with a compass i realized that "The Plough" was the other way up from my planetsphere, and Orion also ! (It works if i turn it around and have South pointing to where North should be.).

I know that there is a simple answer to this problem, with the Earth's tilt or some such hiccup, but it is getting me down and i do not want to start off on the back foot, i want to enjoy my observing (it's hard enough getting me out of the front door !).

Any tips will do,

kind regards

Martin.

As you look up to the sky due to the way you are looking everything becomes inverted for example if you were looking at a star map as you nornally would read a normal map with eyes looking down at the ground when you look up you would be under the impression that everything is backward, so if you positioned the star map so its facing you as you look at the sky you would then be more inline with what the map shows and what your eyes say in the sky. Hope that helps

Sam

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk