NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

First scope. Skyliner 10" flex tube?

Hi :)

This is my first time here :D.. forgive me if this is not the right place to talk about this matter. 

I always loved astronomy and its kind of a personal dream to be in touch with this subject and I always study on my own everything about this science.

The thing is, I'm thinking of getting my first real scope. I currently have a Celestron Skymaster 15x70 binos and I just love explore the night sky and also take some pictures and a bit of imaging :).

I live on an appartment and I have a clear view of the south and west side of the sky from my balcony (wich is not a small balcony) so I was think of getting an 8" dobsionon scope, and I was looking around the Skywatcher scopes. I really liked their 8" dobs. However my only problem is storing the scope itself, and when I saw the 10" skywatcher flex tube I thought that it could be better because of its collapsable tube that can be easier to store. The thing is that I am afraid that for first scope, the 10" is too much.

I have some light polution from my balcony and I dont know how much a 10" can reach the sky over an 8".

If anyone could have an idea on this matter I'll take all sugestions :D

By the way, I have a full time job as a web developer and I'm finishing my master degree on computer engineering at night so my time as a stargazer through the week is about 2 to 3 hours max :(

Cheers everyone! :D

Hello Nuno,

a 10" is an amazing way to start, and a magnificent upgrade to binoculars ;-)

Even collapsed it's not small though, and due to the low mount of dobsonians you will have to make sure that you can use it from a balcony.

Also depending on the amount of light pollution (nearby city glow, neighbor's Windows, street lights) it may be difficult to see deepsky objects even with the large telescope, and depending on the view it could be hard to orientate.