New kit for me and my 6 year old.

Hi all, enjoying having a look around the site!

Having just returned from Egypt and going on a stargazing evening in Sharm my 6 year old has seemed to have caught the bug. He also has an interest in birds (the flying variety) so I am wondering what the best route to take would be, some binoculars and a scope or just one or the other. I dont want to throw too much money at it just in case he doesnt take to the hobby but on the other hand I want him to be able to see things to keep his attention, so I suppose there is a cost/quality balance. I am a commercial photographer so I have access to a decent range of high end tripods if needed.

Thanks for any help or advice that might be given.

Cheers

Andy

welcome to sgl, which does he like more? For astro I would have suggested the heritage 130p

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/dobsonians/skywatcher-heritage-130p-flextube.html

bins small enough for a 6 year old would not be great for astro probably one of the ultra compact would be best for him something like this perhaps http://www.opticshq.co.uk/acatalog/Visionary_6x18_micro_WP.html Unfortunately neither object are really ideal dual use.

These posts always get every answer possible.

Cost wise I have assumed £100 or less.

As he is 6 I will say a refractor. you can get reflectors but they tend to be fast and that means better collimation and better eyepieces, the latter beiing more costly. Also a number of the inexpensive reflectors tend to be spherical mirrors.

The German retailer TS, Telescope Service - has possibly the largest selection in one place.

They do a Starscope 70/700, 70mm dia, 700mm focal length at 74Euro

Think the same is sold here under a few names, try the Sky's the Limit site.

TS do a 80/900 at 140Eur about £120

There is the StarTravel 80, short refractor at 120Euro, £100, you would need to attach it to one of your tripods. Search a few of the UK retailers as most do these.