Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Starting out

Hi,

I'm just starting out with astronomy in terms that I'm taking the leap into getting the equipment right. I've always enjoyed looking up but I now want to 'see' and hopefully takes images as well.

I'm an enthusiastic photographer and have a couple of cameras and some lenses. I have done a small amount of 'astro' work with what I have but only with wide lenses at a max of 30 seconds or so in a lot of light pollution. The results weren't exactly inspiring. But having read this forum and a couple of other thousand sites I see there's a lot more too it than I thought...

So, I have a lot of questions. I'm going to put them all in this post which I hope is ok!

To start off I've seen a lot of nice images taken with just a guided DSLR so although I've been looking at different scopes etc. I have managed (maybe) to reign myself in and save my wallet from a bashing, and thought I would start with the 'basics' and use what I have. But go for guiding as well in order to increase the shot time.