SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Autoguiding, please can you help?

Hello,

I'm still relatively new to Astronomy and would appreciate some advice. I realised during a recent spell trying to image M42 using my DSLR that I couldn't set my exposure length more than about 30 seconds before getting star trails so after some reading on these forums decided that I need to get an auto-guiding set up.

I have an unused 9 x 50 viewfinder that came with my 200EP sitting around so was contemplating doing the 9 x 50 Mod but need some advice. My 2 Scopes are Skywatcher 127 Mak for Planets and a Skywatcher 200P Newtonian Reflector for DSO's.

I currently own a SPC900 with IR filter (not Long Exposure modded) camera and wondered if its possible to try guiding with this? I do a lot of my Astronomy from my light polluted back garden and have heard that it might struggle picking up a guide star? If that's the case I would also consider buying a QHY5 currently £180 but wondered if its worth buying a better camera (up to £300) that could be used for both guiding when I attempting DSO imaging or as a high frame rate planetary camera better than my SPC900.

One final question. Is it PHD that sends the adjustment corrections to my mount (HEQ5 Pro) or does the camera have some specific hardware that does this?

Any help would truly be appreciated, I've searched a lot and not found all the answers I need.

Cheers

Scott

Welcome to the dark side :)

My honest advice would be, if you are serious about astronomy being a long term hobby, and you want to take long exposures, then start with investing in a decent guidecamera. It will take away so many frustrations and wasted nights, will be reliable and dependable.