NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

I'm losing the battle with Light Pollution

Hi all,

I've been imaging for a few months now with a kit that I know is far from ideal for imaging (local focal length (C11), unguided, unmodded camera, free 8 bit GIMP s/w), but I'm not expecting miracles and I just want to know I'm getting about as good as I could expect. I've have had pretty good results with relatively short exposure stuff (double stars, open and globualr clusters, small bright nebulae like the Ring and Cat's Eye), but I'm really struggling with the big but faint stuff, ie. galaxies and large nebulae.

The problem seems to be a losing battle with LP, although my semi-rural location shouldn't be the worst for this. Basically, I find that anything less than ISO 1600 and 2 mins exposure (which seems to be the limit for the unguided mount) gives very little data, even with around 20 frames. Therefore, I've been relying on 20x2min at ISO 1600, where I can get some object detail but it ends up lost in the orange glow - the two seem to increase in direct proportion! I use darks but not yet flats (that's the next task) so I also get bad vignetting with the 6.3 FR. See the example below for the Bubble Nebula, exposures as above stacked in DSS with initial RGB alignment, saturation increase and small stretch done in that programme.

By the time I process in GIMP and get vignetting and background colour sorted out the galaxy image becomes horribly noisy, probably due to the LP being of the same Pixel intensity as a lot of the detail...I've seen much better images on the net gained with similar kit to mine, so I'm very keen to see if the answer lies in more skill at processing, whether flats will help a lot, or ultimately whether I need to move house!

Toying with getting an 80mm refractor for these large items, will the problem be as bad?

Any help much appreciated.

post-22142-0-19354100-1356283846_thumb.j

Basics: