NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

HEQ5 or EQ6 for 6 inch frac?

huwbellamy

Morning all,

I have ordered an HEQ5 for my Celestron C6R f8 refractor as I think the CG5 (EQ5) it came with is a little shaky under all that weight (about 10kg with all visual bits). I will only be using it for visual at present. Some folks seem to think an HEQ5 will be a big step up from the CG5 in terms of stability (mine is the latest incarnation) but others say not so. Does anybody have any experience of the gains made my popping a big frac on a HEQ5 rather than a CG5. I would grudgingly spend more if the majority vote was in favour of an EQ6 - even then though I have been told by a chum that I'd need something even sturdier for imaging if I decided to later.

Help me spend my money, Huw.

I have a 250mm newt on a HEQ5 mount and have only noticed vibration when it gets a little breezy.It seems to track vibration free.

I'm no imaging expert but i've managed to take some half decent piccies at 30 second exposure(max my camera will do :wink: )with no signs of vibration.

I would grudgingly spend more if the majority vote was in favour of an EQ6 - even then though I have been told by a chum that I'd need something even sturdier for imaging if I decided to later.

Your chum is mistaken!

I would have said that the HEQ5 would be a good match for a 150mm Refractor although the EQ6 is somewhat more sturdy but it IS a big lump! The EQ6 really is very substantial indeed but the HEQ5 is more 'manageable'.

Morning all,