Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help needed in buying a telescope.

Hey guys,

I'm a newbie here, not sure if this is the right place to ask. I live in India and i want to buy a good telescope soon. But the problem is that the scopes available here cost heck of a lot more than the US price listings. For example, the sw 200p eq5 costs 415 usd if you buy in the US, whereas official dealers here charge 820usd which i find very unreasonable. So i would like to know if there are any good online stores which do worldwide shipping. I'm guessing even with the shipping charges and import duty, it should cost me way less.

Thanks for the help,

Ananth.

No knowledge of any US retailers, you will have to search out a few and ask, also try Canadian retailers.

In the UK I am not aware of any that would ship to Mumbai, they are not big enough to get into that.

Try Telescope-Service in Germany

http://www.telescope-service.com/

They ship to all of Europe and may be able to ship to Mumbai, email to enquire.

Another that appeared recently is optical systems:

http://www.optical-systems.co.uk/index.php

They have a list of shipping fees and although India is not in any there is a section for Other.

Worth an email.

If you wanted a refactor then WO have an Online shop.

Oceanside Photo and Telescope in the US ship worldwide and I have found their customer service and shipping speed to be first class. Though you shoud be aware that certain products have restrictions that prevent them from shipping to a country where a dealer already exists.

http://www.optcorp.com/

As well as import duty and shipping, the items may be subject to value added tax as well. In the UK that adds 20% to the price.

Just word of caution.

I sometimes ship goods to India. Usually small electronics, returned to the user following repair.

Getting items through India customs/import can be very problematic to say the least.