NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Flats? Darks? Bias? It's all Greek to me.....

Hi All,

Can I ask some advice with DSO imaging using a Sony A350 DSLR on my 200p EQ5, please?? The mount is not motorised at present, but I’m hoping that the birthday fairy will be kind. :grin:

I’m sort of at the point that I was with SPC web cam a year back, where I’m new to it and (in honesty) haven’t got a clue. I draw encouragement from just how bad my first few shots were, but I’ve improved a wee bit since. I’m trying to use our recent monsoon weather to learn how to, and just what type of shots are needed to image and process DSO’s. By that, I have seen terms such as darks, lights, flats and bias. Also, for example, multiple exposure times with a single image, such as 10x 5mins and 15x 2mins.

If someone has a moment to briefly explain I would really appreciate that. I’m just looking for that starting point, if that makes sense.

I apologise if this has been asked many times previously, I don’t seem to be able to get much out of the search function with this one.

Many thanks,

Sean.

Sean,

First off I would suggest buying every photon counts, brilliant book for everything you need to know (especially when starting to image)

the exposures (subs), are just the individual lights that are taken. You need to have the shutter open as long as your light pollution allows.

So the ones you have : 10x 5mins (10 subs at 5mins per sub) and 15x 2mins (15 subs at 2 mins per sub).

(appologies to who wrote this initally, I can't remember) but I found it very helpful :

A few definitions for you: