NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Eyepiece Choices

Hi Everyone, I know this has been asked many times before, but I just can't decide what to do..

I have a Skywatcher 200P on an EQ5 mount and the standard eyepieces (10mm & 25mm)

The 25mm is OK and gives me quite good images, but the 10mm is next to useless, so I wish to buy 2 or 3 new eyepieces.

I am leaning towards the Baader Hyperion range, mainly because I like the look of them, they have some really good reviews and I can connect my DLSR to them.. But is there another option I should be looking at?

Also what do people think of the Baader Hyperion Zoom Eyepiece (8 - 24 mm Clickstop) Will this be as good as the indiviual eyepieces?

My budget is up to £300 and would like 2 or 3 eyepices..

Cheers

Paul

Hi, I'm a big old noob myself, but I have two BST Explorer eyepieces, 8mm and my new (well, second hand) 18mm, and they have been a massive upgrade from the duff eps I received with my first astromaster scope... search the forum, I'm sure you'll find lots of good things said about them - that's how I chose them :icon_mrgreen:

At £47 each you'd have enough for three plus a nice barlow and some good filters, which would give you six mags and lots of option, which sounds plenty to me... Have you read this sticky yet? It really helped me...

All the best and enjoy your new eps, whatever you plump for...

Hyperions are good eyepiece.

Also consider Celestron X-cel LX which are said to be better corrected for faster scope than the Hyperion. The trade off is a slightly narrower AFOV.

I'd suggest the 25, 12 and 9mm, and a good barlow. It should give you 40x, 83x, and 111x native, and 167x, 222x when the 12 and 9 mm is barlowed.