NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Using a webcam on telescope...a beginner's doubt!

Hi, I am still new in all this and just recently upgraded from a refractor 700mm.60mm to a Skywatcher 130M and decided to buy a webcam from ebay really cheap (7.99) and it is perfectly shaped (cylindrical) to go into the eyepiece and comes with zoom 10x function too, I am pleased so far. I just tried to put it over the eyepiece before making any modifications and on my screen I can see just exactly what the eyepiece is showing, with crispy and clear image so it makes me hesitating if I should take the lenses of the webcam out or not, as now I can get all images using any eyepiece and then all magnifications I have available. My doubt is: if I take the lenses out and leave only the sensor and put it into the focuser (without any eyepiece as suggested by most people in videos and blogs I've seen) I fear that I will be limited to one magnification only (if any) as I will not be using any eyepiece and I don't think the cam sensor only will have the ability to get many images close and far from the objects only using the focuser then ( it will be the only control available), getting the all results as using many eyepieces??? Can someone confirm me this? Will I be able to see the moon at 90x and 180x ,225x and more like I am doing now with eyepieces on and webcam not altered? Also, there's anybody near Southport/Liverpool to meet sometimes whether for sky watching or just exchange of ideas in person, because I just moved into here and apparently nobody is into sky or telescopes? Thanks

Magnification doesn't really have meaning when you're talking about prime focus (ie no eyepiece) imaging. It's more useful to consider how much of the sky is covered by one pixel or some unit of measurement of the camera sensor because camera sensor sizes and pixel sizes vary.