Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

My first viewing ever last night!

Hi all,

Managed to get my telescope out for the first time since receiving it as a birthday present last month. Clear sky!! It is a SkyWatcher Heritage FlexTube 130P.

After playing around with the lenses, I managed to focus nicely in on the moon (I'm sure 100% of everyone here has done this, but I'm a newbie :hello2:) and it was quite exciting to see its craters and details. Located Mars and Venus but could only see a bright light, similar to seeing it with the naked eye; maybe the lens' supplied were basic?!

With that in mind, which lenses would you recommend to see the above and even farther afield, such as Jupiter and Saturn - if possible?! Would love to be able to see their many moons.

Thanks guys.

I guess you could use any of your EP's on the moon, the wider angles to 'get it all in' and the smaller EP's for more detailed work. For the planets you would need the smaller EP's to give you a big enough image to view comfortably.

And, hey, don't worry about looking at the moon, that is always a great pleasure unless there is something fainter I want to see, then it is a real bummer :hello2:

The supplied eyepieces you have should show Saturn and Jupiter just fine. Expect to see Saturn's rings with Cassini division on a good night , slight surface banding, maybe moons and Jupiter with 4 moons and surface detail/ banding with that aperture.

If you are keen to replace your eyepieces then do so with the 10mm first, the 25mm generally holds its own a bit better.

I'd take the time to get to know your scope before you start adding EPs. Making sure you know how to focus and everything :hello2:. (Don't run before you can walk, after all this is your first viewing). That being said, I don't want to put you off getting any, so ignore my post if you want to :).

Thanks for the comments guys.