NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Mount portability

tnorthy92

Hello stargazers. Quick query. Is eq5 (pro) portable. by this I mean I would be carrying it a mile from my uni house to the top of the physics building and reassembling there.

Or would eq3 (pro) be more feasible.

I would also be carrying a DSLR+kit, and probably a 2kg scope+kit. Managed it with eq1 this year but that's not exactly heavy. Cheers :)

That all depends on you to be honest :)

Only thing I'd say is that the Pro will need a power supply so unless there's one available at where your going and if you choose a power pack that's a lot of extra weight to lug about.

I don't know about the weight of the current EQ5 tripod, but when I was a undergrad, I used to carry my 120f8.3 refractor, a EQ4(5) head, DSLR, and counterweight in a 75L rucksack and the tripod by hand. I've walked a few miles with that set up, so it's definitely portable, but I'd say it's at the upper limit of what I'd consider portable.

The mount had single axis motor which used 4x D cells instead of a substantially heavier power pack.

Nowadays I use a lighter system for backpacking, a C6, a GP2 and SXG-S71 tripod.

79758d1329396556-what-am-i-looking-dscn0588.jpg

hope this helps

Why the top of a building? The heat from the building will play havoc with the seeing.

Olly