Looking for a first time scope?

Hello there!

So im fairly new to stargazing however after casual observing from an old 76mm scope i had just to study constellations and locations of certain things ive been researching heavily into getting a decent telescope.

Im looking for something along the price of £300, im not too fussed on any motors or go to systems, just an EQ mount, parabolic mirror and something that is relatively portable.. something i can carry a few 100 metres away or so.

Ive had my one on a skywatcher explorer 150p for sometime,

however a little advice from user experience on this and other scopes similar would help be a lot.

one thing with this scope ive seen it mentions 'Tube assembly available separately' does this mean i have to purchase some sort of mount seperately?

many thanks,

Raisin

Hi Raisin. Welcome to SGL.

The explorer 150P is a good choice. I have the 200P on EQ5 in my toybox and it gets a lot of use.

If you are going to carry far, then the 150 wins over the 200, but a visit to a local club might get you a hold of a scope to assess carrying.

When buying new, the scope and mount are usually package priced for less than the separate items. Hence the statement about OTA available separately.

You will find lots of threads on here about peoples experiences and choices of SW150/200 scopes. That should help.

Take a look at First Light Optics offerings on Skywatcher. They have a good choice and as a retailer are highly recommended.

Keep asking, everyone here is happy to help.

David.

Hi Raisin. Welcome to SGL.

The explorer 150P is a good choice. I have the 200P on EQ5 in my toybox and it gets a lot of use.

If you are going to carry far, then the 150 wins over the 200, but a visit to a local club might get you a hold of a scope to assess carrying.

When buying new, the scope and mount are usually package priced for less than the separate items. Hence the statement about OTA available separately.