NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

LP Filter & Exposures

Mav359

Hi Guys

I bought a from FLO a 1.25" T-Mount Camera Adapter so i could use my LP filter a Baader Neodymium Filter. Great however it seems to have made things worse.

Ive attached a JPG of a single 2min sub that has had the RGB aligned but the corners of the shot are fried and then there's a central glow.

Am i using it wrong?

post-22348-13387774841_thumb.jpg

Right not ideal but....

...i stacked the LIGHTS and the BIAS files, strangely i can't find my DARKS i done a quick process an had to crop the image. I'm set up now to take FLATS but hadn't in this session because I'm still learning about how to take them and use them.

As you can see i can remove most of that glow but i reckon the image is too dark as a result of trying to remove that glow thus losing data. Also attached is my first attempt at a FLAT file, i need to use the AV setting on my camera apparently which will take better FLATS but looking at that compared to the original photo will DSS for instance subtract the FLATS taking care of this glow?

:) Pretend for a moment if you will that i know nothing of vignetting and explain to me as you would a five year old what it means and how do i resolve it!

Cheers Spikey

post-22348-13387774864_thumb.jpg

post-22348-133877748648_thumb.jpg

post-22348-13387774865_thumb.jpg

Hi Alan, vignetting is as you see it in your sub, very bright hotspot in the centre and darkening off to the edges. Althought in this case it looks a bit more extreme than usual. Have you tried subs without the filter in place ? I think it may need a bit of experimentation and swapping bits about to resolve.