Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Skywatcher SupaTrak repairs?

hobbesy

hello all. Newbie here, so sorry to hit you with a request first time out.

I was bought a Skywatcher 130p on a Supatrak mount for a birthday about 4 years ago. I used it once, then it went away into storage. (I live in central London and don't own a car.)

however I've got more and more interested in astronomy over the last little while, culminating in a cracking week at Les Granges last Summer, so I thought I'd give it another go.

However, when I stuck the battery pack in, nothing happened. Well, nothing, apart from the pack getting hot and a small burning smell.

Not to be beaten, I nipped to Maplin for parts, built a new battery pack and tried that. I got about 3 seconds out of it before it went "poof."

of course, a Supatrak is not like an EQ mount. If you have no power, you have no mount. This is doubly annoying because on a silly whim and on the understanding that I'll be getting into this star gazing lark, I impulsively bought a Vixen ED81s for half price off the Telescope Outlet site.

So now I have 2 scopes and no mounts. D'oh!

After blowing all my cash on the Vixen, I can't now go buy the EQ5 Pro I've got my eye on - that'll have to wait for a bit. So my options are, bite the bullet and grab one of the £200 synscan gotos or get the old SupaTrak repaired.

So to cut a long story marginally short where the flip can I get a SupaTrak mount repaired? Widescreen Centre put me onto Opticalvision, but they only import, not repair. Help obi wan etc..

cheers

hobbesy

Sorry to hear of the problem.

Despite the smoke, it could be something simple and cheap, or a write off. without sight of the kit, it is impossible to say.

The quickest solution might be to look about for another mount (new or used) then see if you can get the Supatrak repaired at leisure.

If the repair fails, you can probably recover a few quid selling the Supatrak for spares.