Very newbie without scope!!!

Good morning all, im new to astonomy and stargazing. Im in the process of buying my first scope but have a tight budget. I want something thats half decent so i dont loose interest, but dont wont to through money at really expensive ones.

Ive been looking at Skywatcher 114 and 130. Ive heard that i should stay away from non probolic scopes???? in that case would a 114p be a good scope or should i get the 130(non probolic) as the 130p is a bit beyond my budget.

Im sure im not the first or last to ask what must seem like silly questions. Any advice would be gratefully received

Nothing silly about your questions. I hesitate recommending scopes on equatorial mounts for beginners as it can take a fair while to get used to setting them up. A dobsonian is a lot easier to use, in my view. Why don't you join an Astro society and see if you can borrow some of their scopes to help you make your mind up?

Thanks for reply. Would i be better off buying a skymax refractor between £100-£200 and learn the ropes so to speak! What would i be able to see with a refractor? im in a good dark spot on the south coast, no streat lights etc.

I would get some good binoculars initially, see if you like the hobby and in the meanwhile you can save up for a scope. I did exactly that and eventually purchased the reasonably priced SW Heritage 130; since my budget is also tight. My 130 gives good views of lunar and planetary targets and some of the brighter DSOs. Remember you always need to save a bit of cash for extras: Eyepieces, collimation tools etc... that costs a fair bit too over time!!!! - the SGL guys will confirm that!