NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

fixed my EQ1 tripod!

bullettooth

hey all,

thought this might be helpful to some people.

i got a skyhawk 114 for christmas and a few days after i took it to a local dark site.

not being used to the scope i was a bit too rough on one of the tightening nuts for the tripod legs and it snapped.

ive drawn on the picture where this is.

anywho, i put some tape round as a quick fix but it didnt last long. so as a plumber i had some solvent cement in my shed and applied some to the break this morning. checked it a couple of hours later and it seems to have done the trick.

so if you have anything thats plastic that breaks i think solvent cement is the way to go :icon_scratch:

hth erm anyone :D clear skies

martin

post-30631-13387771649_thumb.jpg

Hi Martin, I hope the fix holds for you :icon_scratch: I had weakened the fitting on my nexstar 6SE quite a few years ago, took it out for the first time a couple of weeks ago and the same thing happened to me, it snapped off, into quite a few small pieces, no chance of finding them :D

I came up with a fix using polymorph, DIY Material Guide: Polymorph Plastic ( a thermal plastic with low melting point)

I refitted the threaded metal insert into what was left of the plastic fitting, got enough polymorph for what i thought was 5mm thick, 3cm wide band long enough to make up a 'ring' to go around the leg, heated it in hot water, moulded to shape (rolling pin is useful for getting even thickness), I then took the polymorph and got a rough shape that I needed and made a hole with a small screwdriver so that the thumbscrew would still fit. I reheated the polymorph carefully so as not to lose the shape and then pressed in the polymorph so that it was a nice tight fit, screwed in my thumbscrew enough to just bite and left it to cool for 10minutes, job done.