Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

New setup questions

I’m looking for a new scope setup and I’d welcome some advice. Unfortunately I have quite a few different questions so if you can help with any of them that would be great!

I’m interested in imaging (I have no experience of this yet :p) but I’m also interested in the possibility of using a CCD camera to aid visual observing. Initially I thought about combining a f4 imaging Newtonian (possibly the Quattro) with a Watec video camera, but I’m now considering other options because I’d like a setup with more scope for imaging.

So to my questions....

I’m thinking about an Atik camera for imaging (possibly the 314L) and I’m wondering if I could also use this with Artemis capture a little like the Watec – i.e. capture shortish exposures of maybe 10 seconds to several minutes to get better views of galaxies and PNs. Does anyone use CCD cameras for this sort of thing? Would that length of exposure be enough to provide a better view of objects than what you would get visually through the scope?

For purely imaging I’m leaning towards getting an Evostar 80ED DS-PRO (or maybe the 100). However, I’m wondering if the small aperture would be a significant limit on using the scope for the type of visual work described above with the Atik - i.e. would this require exposures of more than a few minutes to see anything more than was visible through the scope alone?