NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

M81 Bode's Nebula

IvanT

My first attempt at this one. 10 x 210 sec subs, guided in RA only as I've a really annoying problem with EQMOD & PHD pulse guiding that I don't understand. It periodically takes a huge jump and sounds like a gear slipping.

I did take 5 darks but I think there was some light leaking in through the camera finder so couldn't use them. I took 10 flats but when applied they seemed to make the (what I assume to be) vignetting worse.

So this is just the 10 subs stacked, no processing.

M81.jpg

Am I correct about the vignetting?

With the 35 mins of detail in this, should I be expecting to see more or do I just need to add a lot more data?

The tracking seems ok and the star stayed almost directly in the PHD cross hairs for the full 35 mins, so am I correct in saying that tracking in DEC only becomes essential if polar alignment is bad?

Thanks

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm no expert, but to me its looking very good. I think you need more data, but for 35 minutes, that image is looking ace.

You need to be adding 20+ flats and darks to your images, although you'd have to ask someone more knowledgable about the flat problem you're having. How are you taing them?

Although my own processing has been frustrating, I noticed the difference in using flats as soon as I tried them (first time this week.)

Thanks

You need to be adding 20+ flats and darks to your images, although you'd have to ask someone more knowledgable about the flat problem you're having. How are you taing them?

I posted some detail on my flats here, in summary:

This is a test flat using Av 1/200, ISO 800, light panel on the end of the scope with my modded 1000d (LP filter & coma corrector in place). I found that 1/200 was the closest setting to get the exposure histogram in the middle of the graph.

IMG_0001.jpg

The problem it seems is my flats are too flat :) what method do you use?