NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Sup cosmos brahs

Hi all, i've been extremerly intrigued by space all my life, like most people i would hope but after watching Morgan Freemans 'Through The Worm Hole' series on youtube i NEED a telescope.

I signed up here to hope fully get some advise on which telescope would suit me.

It's my 21st birthday soon and the idea of a telescope seems good!

I would like a powerfull one but i'm total noob to stargazing.

Whats a popular scope? whats the best? so many questions

Thanks in advance

report.gif

edit.gif

I would advise the best first investment to be - astronomy books. I know it sounds lame, but buying a scope before doing your research is really a bad idea. Knowing what exactly you're getting into, what exactly do you expect to see with it, what the strengths and weaknesses of each scope type are, how much do you expect to spend on it, factoring in things like portability, etc.. it takes a bit of time to get to grips with it. But going through these motions can often mean the difference between getting a life long hobby that makes you happy, and giving up frustrated because you spent a lot of money on something that doesn't work out for you in the end.

I can recommend these as an excellent intro to backyard astronomy:

- Nightwatch, by Terence Dickinson. You can get it on Amazon pretty cheap if you can't find a local vendor with it (I got it off Amazon too). An excellent introduction that's easy to read and will give you an idea of what the hobby is like and where you might find yourself in it. It remains packed with useful information so that even the more experienced amateur astronomers will still find it useful.