NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Sup cosmos brahs

Hi all, i've been extremerly intrigued by space all my life, like most people i would hope but after watching Morgan Freemans 'Through The Worm Hole' series on youtube i NEED a telescope.

I signed up here to hope fully get some advise on which telescope would suit me.

It's my 21st birthday soon and the idea of a telescope seems good!

I would like a powerfull one but i'm total noob to stargazing.

Whats a popular scope? whats the best? so many questions

Thanks in advance

It would be useful to know what you are interested in viewing and more importantly - your budget.

Price wise, the best value/aperture scope will be a dobsonian type which is a reflector which supported by a simple alt/azimuth mount at its base. In terms of size, I would recommend an 8" as this will show you plenty of detail but will allow you to store it or even transport it without it taking up too much space.

Hope that helps.

James

think you might be looking for a good all round scope like a 5 " newtonian . easy to look after ,pretty good at everything , dso`s planets , moon ! and quite affordable , search the decent stores and reviews on here see what you like the look of , do you have transport , will you be using out in the garden or going to dark sky site ? ..cheers

Just my thoughts..

I bought my first ever telescope about a month ago, it was a CPC 9.25" SCT goto scope.

I decided to go with a goto scope because I wanted to spend most of my time looking AT stars rather than looking FOR stars. I just don't have the spare time needed for finding stars/dso's. I definitely don't regret it one bit, on my first night I saw loads of DSO's, it was great. My co-worker has had his non-goto scope for years now and he's not seen the DSO's that I have already. I guess it depends on how much time you have though. I have lot's of hobbies so the quicker I can find things the better.