Filming / Photographing Planets

Hi

This is my first post here.

I'm very new to astronomy,

I got a skywatcher 127 eq3 about a week ago.

I'm getting on ok with it,

I've had some pretty nice views of Jupiter.

But not so much luck filming them.

Jupiter comes out as just a blurry bright dot..

I've tried toggling the gain/ exposure on the webcam software, but to no avail.

I have a logitech quickcam pro 9000, and am running windows 7.

Is there a tried and tested method to get rid of that glare and actually see some detail?

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Your probably overexposing ... focus is also critical.. knock up a simple Y-mask use it focus on a nearby star and then slew back onto the planet...

Don't forget to remove the focus mask.. I reckon if they are honest, most people will have left it on there at some time or other...

Peter...

my cam is totally unmodded, so no filters ect, or 'y masks' whatever they are.

I think maybe you think i have some knowledge about this..

I have zero.

I dont even understand what you mean, sorry.

I have a unmodded logitech webcam (apart from a plastic ring by the lens to make it rest in the telescope eyepeice and be the 'correct ' distance away to get a reasonably good view.

I didnt remove any lenses.

I tried a moon filter and other filters on my actual telescope eypeice, then placed the camera over it.. but still no joy.... just one color with no detail. Ive also tried focusing it, but no joy again.

Ive tried all sorts of positions for gain white balance ect.. yet still no joy.

There must be something i need to do???

thanks

Hi,

How are you imaging Jupiter ?, I just looked at stellarium to make sure but jupiter at the moment is out of sight, It dissapears completely from view in the west at around 3:30pm and comes up again at aroun 5am where it is still light.

Or am I missing out on something?