Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Beginner - Issues, Magnification and Astro photography

Hi,

I'm pretty new to the field of astronomy and i've got a couple of simple questions and an issue.

I have a beginner setup at the moment with a Sky-watcher P13065EQ2 scope (http://www.skywatcher.com/product.php?cat=4&id=43) and im trying to setup for some planetary observation along with a bit of photography.

I've gotten hold of a T-ring for my Canon 500D and a Celestron Telescope T Camera Adapter with a 2x Barlow Lens. All of this fits fine to the camera. When i attach this to the Focuser on the scope though im getting no real image on the camera at all. What am i doing wrong?

I have read that in some cases you insert an eyepiece into the t adaptor and then attach to the cameras. Is this right? Or should it just be as is with no eyepiece?

My other issue is that im not really getting any decent viewing out of the scope with the 10mm or 25mm eyepieces at the moment. Originally when i first setup in a nice dark site i managed to view Saturn and Jupier with its moons as well as some stunning views of the Moon but recently viewing has been a bit......M'eh!

Looking at magnification on my setup im only getting a fraction of the possible magnification that the scope is capable of. 65x with the standard 10mm and 130x with the 2x barlow and 10mm eyepiece. Is it worth looking at getting a smaller eyepiece (was thinking of the 6mm Celestron Omni Plossl) or is this going in the wrong direction?

Any help would be most appreciated

Thanks

I'd take things one step at a time and resolve each issue in turn:-

1. A 'smaller' (i.e. shorter focal length) eyepiece will increase the magnification but right now you need to find out why you are getting poor views from your telescope and existing eyepieces