NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Home made RDF or Telrad

mjonesy1

Hi All,

I have an Astromaster 114 EQ and, like so many others, I can't get along with the RDF at all, the parallax of the two dots and concentric circles is too much for me!

I have been looking at 'proper' RDFs where the dot is shown on a lens and always remains on the distant object no matter where the eye is and these look like the sort of thing I am after.

The Telrad and Rigel also look impressive but I don't think they solve the parallax issue but lots of people love them - maybe they do but I can't see how and I've not seen enough information on the web to properly see if there is anything else other than an LED, mirror and display glass.

There are a few videos out there on how to make RDF 'scopes' (the rifle guys make loads!) and some of them look great to experiment with although the quality of their lenses leave quite a bit to be desired of nighttime working!

I did search the forums but found nothing, has anyone made successful parallax free RDFs?

Also - has anyone attempted to make a Telrad type finder?

I have plenty of red LEDs, batteries, switches etc. so to spend 40 GBP+ would upset me if I open the finder up and just find 5 GBP of plastic lenses!!

Thanks

Jonesy

I don't think you'll ever completely remove parallax errors from a Rigel or Telrad style finder, although the best way I've found to reduce such errors is to look through the device from further away. Essentially they are designed to get you "in the right area" and some find them easier to use than a finder 'scope. I use the Rigel to get me close as I just need to look at the sky with it, and then use the finder 'scope to close in on the object I wish to view.

The basics of Telrads/Rigels are very simple. I found this diagram on the web  that you may find useful:

ss_telr4.gif.

As can be seen it is simply a case of an LED, a graticule, a mirror ( and adjusters ) and a viewing window.