Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Active image enhancer (Is this a new idea?)

focaldepth

Active image enhancer (Is this a new idea?)

First off let me admit I am a complete novice to Astro photography.

Secondly this would not be the first time I have "invented" something only to find it in the shops a few months later. We all do it.

So if this is not a new idea I apologise to to real inventors.

If this is a genuine invention then I would like to offer the idea as "open source" free for all to use.

The idea comes in 2 versions:

1) Fully integrated.

2) Quick and dirty

The principle is based on the fact that we need to take long exposures of well tracked targets for well known reasons.

There will be tracking errors. There will be seeing errors.

Guiding can be used to reduce those errors.

Adaptive correction (pseudo adaptive) can be applied i.e. tilting windows etc.

Adaptive correction (true adaption) can be applied by measuring turbulence and corrected by distorting the optical path (expensive).

This idea can be applied to any of the above but I describe the simple guided case only.

During guiding there are times when the image is offset but still being integrated by the CCD array.

This idea uses a simple LCD shutter to filter out those guiding errors give each sub the best data integration possible.

1) The Fully integrated system.

Sensing the error: Using the guide camera or another fast camera we can calculate either or both of FWHM and offset of one or more guide stars.

When ever the measured error is outside pre-set limits we close the LCD shutter to prevent integration of bad data. Image exposure time is increased to compensate. This would need the big boys to build it into a camera although it could be added to say nebulosity or similar with a little bit of hardware and effort.

2) The quick and dirty system.

Firstly we deliberately over expose the images by say a few percent.