Help needed with skywatcher telescope

Hi guys,

I'm new to this astro viewing so go easy on me. I have a question about a problem with a telescope that I recently purchased second-hand and wonder if anyone can help. The device in question is a Skywatcher Autotracking P13065.

The problem seems to be with the motor/mechanism not working in the way I think it should.

This telescope has a motorised movement that is controlled via a small hand device, power is supplied via a battery pack containing 8 AA batteries. The problem is that when it is all connected it doesn't move. I took the side off the mount and it worked perfectly and when I put the side back on it stopped working again. In experimenting with it, I discovered that it seems to be light sensitive in some way (the side blocking out the light and making it stop). You can even stop it when the side is removed by placing a hand over certain parts of the mechanism.

I don't really want to leave the side off to make it work and wondered if anyone had any experience of this problem and/or solutions as to how to fix it (that is if it needs fixing as it may be me that is doing something wrong).

Hope someone can help

regards

Hi, you seem to have black text on a black background.

I could only read it by selecting the whole message which then changes the colour of the text.

Yes, have heard about similar.

There is a light sensitive something close to the motors. This registers the movement and feeds back to the computer bit sans so the system knows how much it has moved. So in theory knew where it was, how much it has moved and so where it now is.

The odd thing is your description says you have to have the side off for it to do anything. The ones I read said that the light coming in was creeping round and so they had to block off the light in order for the drives to work.

Will go search for the other mention of this but don't expect an answer/information rapidly.

Were you trying the scope out during the day?