Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

New scope - first light with a Celestron C80 ED-R

PeterM

For the last couple of years I've been observing with my 60mm Meade scope on a basic altaz mount. It's done me proud and while I planned (and still plan) to upgrade to a 200p dob later this year I've had my eye out for bargain second hand scopes in the mean time. On the list was a small apo refractor so I was really pleased to see an ad on Gumtree a Celestron C80 ED-R on a CG5 mount for the bargain sum of £175.

The vendor was only about 35 miles away so I popped down on Friday evening. Bear in mind that I'm a total noob when it comes to scopes, never having even seen a GEM in the flesh, so in comparison to my existing scope which I can pick up one-handed mount and all, the CG-5 looked like an absolute behemoth of a thing. The scope looked good to me, I really had no way of judging the state of the mount and tripod but the seller seemed genuine, so I trusted him when he said it worked perfectly. He'd bought it a year ago with the plan of observing from the roof of his tower block but hadn't been allowed to (health and safety) and as he had limited views from his balcony couldn't really justify keeping it.

Someone else had been to see it before me but rejected it on the grounds that one of the slow motion shafts was bent. It wasn't, the knob was a bit wonky and needed reseating.

Got home quite late, it was cloudy out so I put it together in my sitting room just to get used to working an equatorial mount. I learnt pretty quickly to adjust the height of the tripod legs before adding the mount, scope and weights otherwise you risk being crushed when the thing starts to topple over.