NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Celestron NextImage Webcam issues

Hi All,

Anyone here with a celestron nextimage solar system imager?

Ive ripped appart a few webcams and finally decided to invest in this piece of kit as i wanted a nice CCD for snapping planets.

Issue:

If i drop the frame rate or change the exposure or the gain beyone a certain point the cam literally goes to about 1 frame per minute, becomes totally unusable.

Seems that when there is less light on the ccd slows right down. Works find whent heg ain is right up and so the image is full of static, but the moment you drop the gain\exp\fps (even though the planet is still a pretty bright spot) it basically stops.

Oddly ive not has this issue with the logitec quick cam 9000 i ripped appart, or any of the cheap cams i destroyed while testing.

Seems odd to me that the one cam designed for this purpose cant handle low light! lols.

Any ideas?

p.s im a tech support guy so have tried the usual like putting in usb 2.0 port, checking drivers and have tried 3 different laptops and 3 different desktops. all the same.

I've found operating in XP and using wxAstrocapture to be the most reliable method for controlling the camera. Had quite a few problems with Vista (only AnCap worked). I've only used it for planetary video, not single shot exposures. I believe you can do a hardware mod for long single shot exposures. Its a small chip, so can be a challenge to get the target on the chip.

I've found operating in XP and using wxAstrocapture to be the most reliable method for controlling the camera. Had quite a few problems with Vista (only AnCap worked). I've only used it for planetary video, not single shot exposures. I believe you can do a hardware mod for long single shot exposures. Its a small chip, so can be a challenge to get the target on the chip.

Hi

Im using Amcap to control it, with no auto settings enabled.