Hi guys!
I took a photo of the Sadr region using a Canon EOS 500D, stacking 7 photos with 4 mins exposure and ISO 800 each. I tried to process it with Siril and Graxpert, but since I am new to astrophotography I don't really know what the result should be, so I don't know if I am doing the right things. I attach here the initial stacked fits image and my attempt. Can you help me with some quick processing (I don't want to waste your time) so that I understand what is the direction to follow?

2024-08-30T09_43_26.png.d7601df26e85f0fca4fd7bacb56c0d85.png

result_1680s.fit

• Like 1

trying a "quick preview process" on this atm. having internet issues because virgin media are a fantastic company, so bare with me :(

also, lol, my pc is old so i might have to bin your image 2x2 to stop starnet blue screen of deathing it.  so it will be a quarter of the size :(

Edited by TiffsAndAstro
  • Like 1

i think this came out pretty nice for a quick 20 minute process. Im certain other would do much better.

did a tiny crop, then background extraction and noise reduction in graxpert. back into siril to run starnet, stretched background, ran unpurple tool on stars in gimp to remove some slight purple fringing then put stars and starless back together in siril :)

Unsavedstarrecompositionresult.thumb.jpg.cb2476b1b9725e02c7dddbc1c2fed44f.jpg

• Like 2

12 minutes ago, Pangolino Astronomico said:

@TiffsAndAstro what do you think the next steps are to improve the image? (although you did an excellent job 🤩)

honestly, ive been doing this only a few months so bare that in mind. sadly, the best thing is more total integration time. possibly many hours, depending on your gear and your light pollution situation.

more total integration time is something im trying but failing to do myself. there's so much stuff i want to image :)

also the reason your stars have the big blue fringing is because you're stretching the whole image and not the background seperately from the stars.