SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

M3 NINA Tester

Budgie1

Normally I don't bother trying to image between May & late August because there's little to no astro darkness or just too much light in the sky.

So I use this break to go through the kit and prepare for the next season. So far I've tuned my HEQ5 with new bearings, grease & removed the backlash. I've also started setting up NINA to give that a try for image acquisition. This week I managed to get everything connected and set up profiles for each camera/scope combo I may use and then last night it was unexpectedly clear, so I decided to try out NINA's polar alignment tool to dial in the mount after it's tune and do an experimental image sequence to get used to the software (I've been using ATP for the last 3 years ;) ).

Things went well, with a couple of learning points and I managed 40 minutes on M3, which turned into 34 minutes by the time I'd weeded out some poor subs. I also used the flats tool, which was very quick & easy to use. Overall I like NINA and it's got some good tools but I need more time using it and getting use to it. I'm still finding my way around the various controls at the moment.

Anyway, here's the 34 minutes of M3 using a Sky-Watcher Evostar 100ED DS Pro with 0.85 FF/FR and ZWO ASI294MC Pro at 200 gain & 30 offset, with flats, flat-darks & darks. Stacked & processed in PI.

C's & C's welcome. :D

M3_11052023_34m_OSC.png.286efd1ce46150794a80e3aad2c83a8e.png

• Like 16

• 3 weeks later...

That looks excellent to me, considering such a short session!! Well done!

And well done for all that work you've done to set things up for all your combos - I wish I was that organised! 🙂

I'm aiming for M3 tonight, despite a 3/4 moon and questionable seeing. It will also be a short session - aiming for a couple of hours. 

I'll be happy if I can get as clean an image as you've got here.

Cheers,

Steve

• Like 1

Thanks Steve.