Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Advice on 1st telescope for Fujifilm XT4

Hi, my names Paul. im a standard newbie here looking for help.

I am trying to find the best telescope for a total beginner that I can eventually also use with fujifilm XT4 for astrophotography. I already have the camera and its not getting the use that it should. 

Any advice would be much appreciated .

@Rustyspurs, I'm not going to attempt to answer your question as there are so many possible answers to this, that will depend on your budget and what it is you want to see. If you want better answers than this, it is worth thinking about what you actually want to image with your existing camera and state that. Also, if you indicate your budget, that will help.

My personal view is that you can image something with almost any camera you have coupled to almost any telescope you can get your hands on. What you can image and what quality image you obtain will depend on the telescope, it's mount and your camera, but it will also depend on your level of skill and dedication as an imager.

I do a lot of my lunar imaging with just a DSLR and a telephoto lens. I also do some planetary with an 8 inch Newt on a Dobsonian mount and have even attempted M42, the nebula in Orion with the Newt. I also have a 6 inch iOptron Ritchey Chretien telescope which I am assured is not the best instrument for planetary or the Moon due to it's large central obstruction. I have used it quite successfully for both, but will admit that there are better options, but it does not stop me using it for such projects.

DSLRs and mirrorless cameras are often stated as not ideal for successful deep-sky imaging, yet there are people out there who get stunning results with theirs. It should be possible to couple the XT4 to most telsescopes at prime focus with a suitable adapter, which is going to make life easier than trying to use it through the eyepiece in a similar manner to mobile phones.