Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Clicklock system advice please.

As a comparative newbie I am confused about Clicklock systems. I use 2 scopes for visual, an Orion 80ed for wide field and a Mak 127 for lunar and planetary.

Twice recently my 1.25" diagonal has done an abrupt rotation from vertical to facing the ground, luckily my Baader zoom eyepiece did not fall out but my heart rate accelerated immediately!

I'm trying to get to grips with understanding the Baader system particularly in relation to the different systems I am using. My main question: is there one Clicklock device that will fit both scopes that I can simply slip my 1.25" diagonal into and can be transferred between scopes or am I faced with buying 2 different Clicklock devices.

Thanks for looking.

I have a 2" Baader ClickLock clamp on the back of my Skymax 127. It's this one, and in my case, it required this adapter to be fitted to the back of the scope. It is a very solid clamp, but it locks so well that sometimes to loosen it I feel like I might move the scope alignment.

I also have a 1.25" Baader ClickLock clamp fixed permanently to my 1.25" diagonal. It's this one. This ClickLock clamp is not as good as the 2" as the smaller size requires a different design. It is fine for quick release of eyepieces but I wouldn't trust it with a diagonal and zoom.

My advice would be to fit 2" ClickLocks to both of your scopes.

• Thanks 1