Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Tal 1 year it changed to a 1.25" focuser

Hi 

I am new to the lounge and looking to buy a Tal 1 as my first scope at the ripe old age of 64. I have read a great many pieces on the scope and feel it will be a good starting option, the thing is I want to get one with a 1.25" focuser, and hence the need to no when they stopped making the 32mm .

If I can find the 1.25" verity this will open up the eye pice options, as I know after looking that 32mm Tal eyepieces are very difficult to find.

I know others have moved the primary mirror up to enable focus on the 32mm verity, which I would prefer not to do.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Trevor

Hi Trevor, no idea what year they changed but you can tell by looking at the focuser itself- the 32mm were a push fit like this

977701DE-9F2A-4A85-9982-0E82E621240B.jpeg.0cb5de28812b155dd9149cca1360d429.jpeg

and the 1.25” had a lock screw 

6E58663E-D9D7-4141-B9E0-38C5F5B4CF6E.jpeg.a0d56d9ad69932f7df7bb31742cc0c16.jpeg

Also the ota length got a bit shorter but i would have to measure

Mark

Edited by markse68

I’m not really one for recommending eyepieces (it’s a very personal choice really)  but the 25mm standard tal plossl is a nice one. When i was using my Tal 1 a lot I used the 25mm plossl and I remember getting my first posh eyepiece- a Pentax 12mm XF which framed the whole moon nicely iirc. I also had the 2x Tal barlow which gave nice higher power views.