Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

My DIY solution to easily aim my SkyGuider Pro at a selected target

soundwave

Hello everybody,

I have a SkyGuider Pro (which I really enjoy), and I wanted to have a very quick way to find my selected target, since I noticed that sometimes it takes me a while to locate it.

Quick overview:

1. I made a semi-circle with degree markings for the RA axis.
  2. I have a panning head with degree markings for the DEC axis.
  3. I made a JavaScript calculator that takes my selection from Stellarium and tells me to which degrees I need to set each axis.

If anyone is interested in the calculator, or in any of the STL files, I can upload them somewhere.

Here is a breakdown of my DIY "SkyGuider Pro EZ Aim" project :)

The "Hardware":

1. DIY 180 degrees semi-circle with degree marking (90° to -90°).
    In my case, I 3D printed a semi-circle that I made in Fusion 360, and stuck numbers onto it.

2. DIY "needle" (also 3D printed) that is mounted/clipped onto one of the Skyguider's RA block ribs (movable).
    I noticed that it's much easier to get a good look at what degrees I am pointed at when the needle is mounted on one of the side ribs instead of on the middle one (where the camera gets in the way of the view).

3. Panning head with 360 degree markings.

01.thumb.jpg.8eaf73e2601e6f3b552aea0533c7d22c.jpg

02.thumb.jpg.6ff2557f948f492be6fb726874fb1423.jpg

The Software:

Stellarium: 

1. I select the target (in this example, the North America Nebula)

Stellarium_NGC7000_HA-DEC.thumb.png.3e0d102e8815a984ac74c8aeb8333e0f.png

My homemade RA/DEC calculator (JavaScript):
Initial Settings

These settings don't change unless I either unscrew the panning head or/and unstick the semi-circle.

The background the the current NASA APOD.

1. RA Offset
    When the SkyGuider RA axis is pointing at 0°, I move the needle to one of the ribs to the side, and see where it's pointing at (in this case, a 72 degrees offset).