Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

twobleak

Hi Everyone

I'm a complete beginner with Astrophotography (fairly competent with a DSLR though) and I've just managed to get my hands on a Skyguider Pro and have a first attempt at some imaging. I only have a Nikon 35mm 1.8 lens right now so I'm just getting to grips with the basics. I've had a crude attempt at capturing Andromeda but I'm wondering what might be going on with the image after stacking in Astro Pixel Processor? Now I realise I was fighting all kinds of problems with this - a fair amount of cloud, street lamp very close to my garden and ~80% moon illumination for starters but being a complete newbie, I'm not really sure what to make of the problems in this image? It does appear to clean up better when using the light pollution removal tools but am I doing something horribly wrong?

Some info on what I grabbed: 60 x 1 minute lights (iso 400, f4), 20 dark frames, 40 bias frames and 40 flat frames. Stacked in APP with all the defaults chosen.

Dropbox link to a higher quality jpg https://www.dropbox.com/s/09883stb6wxccj8/test-RGB-session_1-St.jpg?dl=0

Thanks

test-RGB-session_1-St.jpg

Edited by twobleak

2 hours ago, twobleak said:

Ok, fits file is here https://www.dropbox.com/s/il2t6z7ia8en3va/andromeda-RGB-session_1-St.fits?dl=0

It was 45 lights, not 60. My mistake.

If this is the unprocessed stacked image, there is either something seriously wrong with your stacking workflow, or your data capture.  What do single subframes look like? If they look similar, you may have had dew on your telescope lens. If the subs look clean, it must be your workflow.

I was very critical about checking for dew as I had a new dew strap fitted which I wasn't sure was any good. However no dew formed on the lens or in general. This is only my Nikon 35mm 1.8 lens though, not a telescope.

Here are two raw files (lights) from that session, the first and the last. Fair bit of cloud but they seem ok I thought?