Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Getting the upgrade itch... advice on EQ setups

Hi all,

It's been a long time since I posted anything on here, had a lot of stuff going on in my life but that seems to have calmed down now... and I find myself with a bit of extra cash, which leads me on to...

I've been observing the skies for a few years now with my trusty Celestron NexStar 130 SLT. I've been mostly using the Meade zoom eyepiece and Revelation Astro 2.5x barlow to observe planets, double stars (I have a love affair with albireo) and deep sky objects (I'm fortunate to live in a relatively dark area - when there's no clouds the milky way is clearly visible), and I recently purchased a superb OVL PAnaview 32mm 2" eyepiece which gives me the most satisfying view of the double cluster... but I've been thinking of stepping it up a notch.

First of all, I am interested in trying out astrophotography as a side project (I know, I know, I'll end up getting sucked in), but more than that I want a bigger aperture so that I have a better chance of resolving some of the details of the DSOs I'm observing. After spending probably way too long looking around I've found a few potential candidates, but wanted to get some advice first.

The SkyWatcher Explorer 300PDS NEQ6 PRO is a pretty tasty looking morsel (300mm, EQ goto mount) at £1650 or thereabouts, the 250mm variant is about 300 quid cheaper, but I also noticed that there is, for an extra £400, a Maksutov-Newtonian variant, the SkyWatcher DS-PRO 190MN. It has less aperture than either of the other two - can anyone explain what the relative advantages of this scope would be over a standard newtonian? Also, Is there a big step up in what I will see from 200-300 considering I'll be upgrading from 130mm (in short, should I cool my aperture fever)?