Cannot see 8se base to update firmware help.

Hoping someone has seen this before ! , I have a 8se base with a c8 Carbon XLT OTA , so the firmware on my new Starsense is 4.21 latest as above , my firmware on my original HC is also updated to 4.21 , however my MC is stuck on 5.14 which I desperately need to update so it has the correct software and firmware for the motors to match the new starsense , I should also point out I’m a rookie at this lot so feel free to kick me etc ! . It’s something I have always wanted to do and illness has made me do myself a bucket list and astronomy plus Astrophotography both made it into my top 10 list every time I kept updating my list ! .

so I purchased a good quality FTDI chipped programming cable that works perfectly with a 4se that I have which is about three years old , my idea was the 4se was a sort of crossover as the big scope is too much for anything land based with my dslr or the neximage camera etc. Anyway so updated my 4se all too latest HC and MC firmwares using the cable as above , as we all know the rs232 ports are dead now in the it industry for laptops , portables etc. Anyway so I move onto the 8se base and can I get the base seen by anything ! Hmm nope , the what I’m told is the original little software app that does your HC or MC depending on which one you run will not see the 8se base or a telescope etc, the CFM sees the Starsense as above but does not detect a telescope either when plumbed into the 8se ! So I’m totally stuck and do not know where to go next ! HELP ! ( I have also ordered a rs232 to USB converter cable in the meantime to see if it’s a cable issue but I do not see it as it’s perfect on the 4se every time !?.  Could it be a port problem on the 8se base ? Could it be that I’m facing the wrong way ! Could it be that the milk has gone off ! I’m hoping it’s something stupid as in me or if someone else has seen the same problem etc , thanks in advance for any help guys !. 

Hi