Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Portability <= Quality ?

Hello, I am new to Astrology (as in I only became interested when my 4 old daughter asked me whether that 'twinkle' in the sky was a star or a planet a few weeks ago), and I have been totally mesmerized, trying to learn about the star charts and the planets to teach my little girl.

I live in Bournemouth but drive out to the New Forest to do a bit of star gazing where it is a lot darker, I am looking to buy a telescope but obviously I need a scope that is portable and easy to set up. I have been looking on the internet and could only find scopes that range from £30-£60 that looked portable enough.

I have been looking at the following 'North Star Optical Mercury 60 X 700 Classic 60mm Refractor Kit'

http://www.scopesnskies.com/prod/mercury/60mm/starter-scope.html

Now my questions are :

Is this scope any good?

Will I be able to see the Rings of Saturn/Moons of Jupiter/Orion Nebula?

Is there a better alternative?

Can/how do I connect a digital camera to this scope?

The problem I am facing is that I'm not sure of what to expect with a telescope, I would love to see and capture images I see on some of the Astrophotography websites but will this scope be a disappointment?

Unfortunately I have to place portability over quality, since Bournemouth is so darn bright at night and because I would like to capture the images on my camera binoculars are out of the question.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Firstly welcome to SGL :undecided:.