Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

VB.NET coding for custom all sky camera

purgitoria

Hi All,

I am currently working on a project to build a remote and robotic observatory which is never cheap and to cut down on costs and provide the most reliable solution i decided to build my own All Sky Cam. As a basis i have used an ImagingSource DMK 33G445 monochrome camera which will be installed inside a home made housing that i am currently just finishing off. The camera i chose is a GigE model which is PoE as i detest USB cables in runs of more than 2 meters and find them completely unreliable and also being PoE i can power cycle the camera via the managed PoE network switch if it needs a reboot. I could have bought one of the cameras available on the market but they are all USB and the software included is pretty basic will not support other brands but the ImagingSource cameras have a downloadable SDK to help create your own software.
I however am an absolute novice when it comes to software and programming but as there is nothing on the market that does what i want other than bundled with equipment costing thousands of £££££ and I decided that I would look at writing my own program that would give me the functions i needed with a modest cost. The camera and housing has cost me around £600 and all of the software including Visual Studio 2012 has all been free and so far i have managed to create a basic interface for the software which allows me to start and stop the live feed, select different devices (TIS devices only), and manipulate settings such as exposure, gain, brightness etc. and i can also write code to save off an image sequence or an AVI video file.